New Mexico Pharmacy Business Council

NM Advocacy Group Hits Ground Running


Legislative and regulatory advocacy for independent pharmacists in New Mexico has taken a big step forward with the formation of the APRx-backed New Mexico Pharmacy Business Council (NMPBC).

The APRx Board of Directors voted in December to create NMPBC to advance the advocacy interests of independent pharmacists in the state. NMPBC is overseen by a 5-member Board of Directors and is jointly funded by APRx and New Mexico shareholders.

The five Board members are:

  • David Lansford, R.Ph. | Clovis | Chairman
  • Danny Cross, R.Ph. | Carlsbad | Vice Chair
  • Ashley Seyfarth, R.Ph. | Bloomfield | Sec.-Treasurer
  • Neal Dungan, R.Ph. | Carlsbad
  • Harvey McCroskey | R.Ph. retired | Santa Fe
Uploaded via media manager.
About 60 pharmacists and other guests attended NMPBC’s Jan. 23 reception in Albuquerque.

Like the highly successful Texas Pharmacy Business Council, NMPBC is an independent subsidiary of APRx that focuses solely on legislative and regulatory advocacy. The five-member NMPBC Board sets legislative policy and goals and already his its own well-respected lobbyist -- Minda McGonagle -- who is highly engaged in the 2016 New Mexico legislative session.

“Our growth in New Mexico reached the point where we want to commit significant resources to focused advocacy for independents there,” APRx President Mike Gohlke said.

Clovis pharmacist David Lansford, who owns Roden-Smith Pharmacy and serves as the city’s mayor, said a top concern of the new group is the economic viability of independent pharmacies in the state.

“The economic environment for independents is increasingly more challenging here,” Lansford said. “The New Mexico Pharmacy Business Council is poised to strengthen the viability of the Independent Pharmacies here in New Mexico.”

NMPBC hosted a Jan. 23 Albuquerque reception attended by 60 independent pharmacists and supporters at the New Mexico Pharmacists Association Mid-Winter Meeting. Board members and McGonagle attended, as did APRx staff, NMPhA Executive Director Dale Tinker and ex-State Rep. John Heaton, a former pharmacist and owner in Carlsbad.

  Uploaded via media manager.
Nathan Rawls & Marissa Lansford (L) give $5,000 to NMPhA leaders: Ex-President Patrick Griego (C), New President Michael Raburn & Executive  Director Dale Tinker (R).

The reception, which was supported and funded by American Pharmacies, provided a forum in which the new group introduced its leaders, and shared its values and commitment to protecting the business model of independent pharmacy in New Mexico. The group discussion included
the 2016 30-day fiscal session of the New Mexico Legislature and the upcoming 90-day regular session in 2017.

APRx Donates $5,000 to NMPhA

To further demonstrate its strong commitment to pharmacy advocacy in New Mexico, APRx donated $5,000 to NMPhA. APRx Key Accounts Manager Nathan Rawls and Business Development Manager Marissa Lansford presented a ceremonial check to NMPhA leaders on Jan. 24 during the second day of the group’s 2016 Mid-Winter Meeting.